A fast and consistent Bryan Staring and his Panigale V4 R has won Round One of the Australian Superbike Championship.

In Race One at Phillip Island, Wayne Maxwell (Ducati Panigale V4 R) was the only rider in the 1:31’s and was looking untouchable until a stumble on lap 5 saw last year’s Australian Superbike Champion crash out at turn eight. Maxwell walked away unscathed, DesmoSport rider, Bryan Staring (Ducati Panigale V4R) was left with clean road ahead and a four-second margin over the rest of the field. Bryan Staring pushed forward to win Race One with more than a 5 second margin, in his first race with the DesmoSport Ducati team on board the Paniagle V4 R.  

An emotional Staring was almost lost for words on the podium, saying “We were chasing (Wayne) all weekend”. “I knew that we had good race pace, but I didn’t know how good it needed to be though. Once we set out I could see the areas where we were strong and in the end, I kept the pressure on.” 

Nursing a sore ankle from his excursion at Hayshed in Race One, Maxwell yet again lined up in pole position and led from the time that the lights went out. Maxwell and his Paniagle V4 R were able to maintain a consistent rhythm and fast pace in order to build a two second gap ahead of fellow Ducati rider, Bryan Staring. Wayne Maxwell commented after the race “It was good to get a bit back,” “I have a few bruises so I’ll go and get my body healed up.” 

With Ducati taking the win in race one and taking both steps of the podium in Race Two, the tone for the season ahead is strong with spectators left at the edge of their seats.   

Superbike Race One Results

1.  Bryan STARING 

 Ducati Panigale V4 R 



 Yamaha YZF-R1 


3.  Mike JONES 

 Yamaha YZF-R1 


4.  Josh WATERS 



5.  Daniel FALZON 

 Yamaha YZF-R1 


Superbike Race Two Results

 1. Wayne MAXWELL

 Ducati Panigale V4 R 


2.  Bryan STARING  

 Ducati Panigale V4 R 



  Yamaha YZF-R1 


4.  Mike JONES 

 Yamaha YZF-R1 


5.  Josh WATERS