San Marino Grand Prix (Misano Adriatico) : Statistics

Ducati in San Marino

- Jorge Lorenzo has obtained four victories in Misano, one in 250cc (2007) and three in MotoGP (2011, 2012 and 2013), and he has been on the podium nine times.

- Lorenzo has four pole positions at this track - one in 250cc (2007) and three in MotoGP (2014, 2015 and 2016) - and he has started from the front row of the grid ten times in the eleven years he has raced here. Last year he started from fifth position and was first after the start.

- Lorenzo led the race last year for six laps, pulling out a gap of 4.5 seconds from his pursuers before the rain caused him to crash in turn six, the most troublesome place on the track where 31 riders crashed over the weekend.

- Lorenzo and Dovizioso were fighting for the victory in the San Marino GP in 2007 where overtaking took place every lap until Andrea’s bike broke eight laps before the end.

- Dovizioso’s third place last year is his best result in the San Marino GP, where he has finished fourth four times.

- The fastest lap at Misano is held by Jorge Lorenzo, with a time of 1'31.868.

- 299.50 km/h is the maximum speed reached at Misano, set by Dovizioso on the Ducati in 2015.

- Ducati won the 2007 race with Stoner, who started from pole position, set the fastest lap and led the race from the first corner until the finish.

- Andrea is a native of the municipality of Forlimpopoli. His town Forlì is located only 65 km from the Misano circuit, making this GP the closest to his home.

- Dovizioso’s first victory in a circuit was at this track, on the occasion of the Italian National Championship of 2000.

- Danilo Petrucci finished second here last year, ahead of Dovizioso, after leading the race for 21 laps, making it the first time that two Ducatis have finished on the podium in the San Marino GP.


- The San Marino GP has been held twenty times, fourteen times at the Misano World Circuit, four times at Mugello and twice at Imola. In 2007 the race was renamed the GP of San Marino and the Rimini Riviera.

- The San Marino GP is not actually held within the small independent Republic, but on Italian soil, specifically at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, located 20 km from the country that gives the race its name.

- In 2012, the Misano track was renamed Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, in honor of the ill-fated rider who lost his life in 2011 during the Malaysian GP, ​​and who lived 11 km from the track.

- The most difficult braking occurs in Turn 8, known as Quercia (Oak), where a braking distance of 246 meters is needed over 5 seconds, with a force on the brake lever of 6.9 kg, going from 295 km/h down to 75 km/h.

- The track underwent major reforms in 2007 when the track direction was changed, thus creating more space for the runoff. With this change the original final corner become the first. In 2015 the track was resurfaced, the runoff expanded and the curbs were modified.

- On the Friday of the 2014 GP, a total of 62 crashes were recorded, the outright record for the number of crashes in a single day.

- Since the GP returned to the Misano circuit in 2007, only two races have been held in the rain: in 2015 which included a double bike change, and last year's race, which was held in rainy conditions from start to finish. Previously, between 2007 and 2014, and in 2016, all the races had been in the dry.

- The Republic of San Marino is a sovereign state and the oldest constitutional republic in the world. It is the fifth smallest state, with a population of 33,000 inhabitants, in a territory of 61 km².